13 comments on “Step Off With My Left Foot…

  1. Just remember that the OGL with the section 15 copyrights have to go into any file that you make available for download. It probably wouldn’t be a bad idea to slip the CUP statement in there as well.

    • Thanks, I am hopeful that once I get a “Plot Point” adventure done, which might take several blog posts I imagine, that I can consolidate them all into a pdf. At which time, if I keep up with the OGL page, I should be able to take it full clothe and attach it to the end of said document with the CUP. Once several, thinking six, “Plot Point” adventures are done I can put them together with some additional detail for a setting compilation…

      Thoughts?

      TB

  2. I think it’s an excellent start, and more then sufficient. Paizo, and the others too, need to be realistic in what is expected from folks putting up free material. I write for. Labyrinth Lord or Swords & Wizardry but the methodology is the same to comply with their compatibility clauses. I too put an OGL page on my blog, always accessible from the header. Glad to see you forging ahead Bane. I hope Ed comes back and does the same eventually.

    • Swords & Wizardry was a close runner-up for the topic of this blog. It is just that I feel I will have a lot better time of gathering enough people to play a PFBB game, from the scant few role-players at my locale, to actually use whatever I come up with.

      Thanks, I am indeed forging ahead and I hope to do here what I was never able to do on my old blog; complete something. Staying focused FTW!

      I have hoped that Ed would somehow push on as well. I have even toyed with the idea of offering to assist with OGL/CUP compliance, for what little I actually know about it, if he should put together a single document. But, alas, I have to remember what I said in the previous paragraph; “Stay Focused!”

      I would love to have a link to your blog. As of yet, I have not been able to figure out how to get a proper ‘blog roll’ working with WordPress… : (

      TB

  3. I’m glad your forging ahead with your blog, Bane. I’ll consider redoing the class conversions to properly comply with Paizo’s legal requirements, but for right now I need a little time to, eh, ‘decompress’ about it all. Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if I just tackle one every few days or so…

    • Did they give you a suspense date? If I can help let me know. Perhaps if you did an OGL on the main page with the SRD, PFBB, and Core book sourced, and then add a…

      “Section 15: Copyright Notice – Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Ultimate Magic
      Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Ultimate Magic. © 2011, Paizo Publishing, LLC; Authors: Jason Bulmahn, Tim Hitchcock, Colin McComb, Rob McCreary, Jason Nelson, Stephen Radney-MacFarland, Sean K Reynolds, Owen K.C. Stephens, and Russ Taylor.

      Section 15: Copyright Notice – Advanced Player’s Guide
      Advanced Player’s Guide. Copyright 2010, Paizo Publishing, LLC; Author: Jason Bulmahn.”

      …blurb like they did on the SRD for the “Sorcerer” to the individual blog posts? The CUP was a cinch.

      Take the time to ‘decompress’ and let me know if you need anything. Don’t know how much I can help, but would try. Maybe if you could send me the documents in an editable format I could do the OGLs for them? Or I could try and do the OGLs, then send them to you to add to the pdfs?

      IDK,

      TB

      • They didn’t give me a suspense date. In fact, all the old stuff is already gone from my blog, but hopefully I’ll have the first of the consolidated PDFs, done correctly this time, up in a few days.

        Thank you for the offer of help, but I’d like to see if I can figure it out myself first. After all, if I want to keep on writing stuff I’ll need to learn it properly anyways. The sample you provided above will help point me in the right direction, I think.

      • Ed, that seems to be a good idea. At least one person needs to know and learn how to do it correctly. That way, they can give tips to anyone else wanting to do it as well. It seems like from what you said about your conversation with the Paizo rep that they want to be helpful and work out compliance issues for the best. It just seemed overwhelming at that moment (and with all the individual work you did on files, it truely was).

        I noticed that you also said that you would slowly get those individual files into compliance over time. The only tip I have on figuring that out is to go to d20pfsrd site… all the classes have the Section 15 notices at the bottom. Otherwise, its assumed to be in the PRD. Also, you can go to the top-left of any of those pages and click a link to bring up a print-preview page that is scrubbed clean of all the navigation crap…. leaving behind only the game content and the section 15 notices. I also like how they did those notices with a link opening to the product page at Paizo. Can’t go wrong with keeping Paizo happy by steering potential customers to their products. And that would be easy enough to do in your RTF files and convert to PDF, having those links right there in the document.

        One other thing (and I’m really not certain about this), but it seemed like you’re also supposed to state whether or not YOUR content is available for Community Use. You could choose to deny the right to freely use/distribute any of your ‘original’ work (I’m certain you don’t want to do that though). 🙂

      • I believe that you have to add your own material to the OGL, see what I did with mine using the OGL link at the top of this blog. You should also, IIRC, add a “Designation of Product Identity” and “Designation of Open Game Content”. The DoPI is what of yours you don’t want others to use as OGL if they site you in an OGL product. I chose to not allow some things because I will be working on a setting that I want to retain rights to, as I might want to take donations for it. The DoOGC is just stating, as I understand it, that everything else is OGC.

        Hope that helps.
        TB

      • OGL…

        4. Grant and Consideration: In consideration for agreeing to use this License, the Contributors grant You a perpetual, worldwide, royalty-free, non-exclusive license with the exact terms of this License to Use, the Open Game Content.

        5.Representation of Authority to Contribute: If You are contributing original material as Open Game Content, You represent that Your Contributions are Your original creation and/or You have sufficient rights to grant the rights conveyed by this License.

        8. Identification: If you distribute Open Game Content You must clearly indicate which portions of the work that you are distributing are Open Game Content.

        10 Copy of this License: You MUST include a copy of this License with every copy of the Open Game Content You Distribute.

        5 & 8 were the big ones to me. Those clearly state that if you’re distributing ‘original’ material, you must say so. Especially if/when that original material is also being shared/distributed as Open Game Content. That leaves it vague as to what has to be done if any original content is NOT being shared as OGC, although most original content would more than likely be shared freely.

        CUP…

        Clearly states that the content can not be used commercially (you can’t charge for it). So, if the content is something that you want to try to make a little profit off of, then you have to keep it separate from the OGL/CUP content. It has to be totally scrubbed of Product Identity. (There is a different license agreement for those individuals who wish to develop and distribute related content on a commercial basis… it is refered to as the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Compatibility License.)

      • #5 & #8 are the biggies as I understand it as well, and why most people have the “Designation of Product Identity” and “Designation of Open Game Content”, to designate, usually, that their contributed materials is OGC (DoOGC) except for X (DoPI) where most retain the rights to art, proper nouns, etc. Which I have stated in the above OGL that I wished to do.

        If I ever chose to release the setting, It would indeed be devoid of any of the OGC, and would be a system neutral, or non-d20, release of my product identity material. Possibly repackaged for something easier to professionally write for, such as Swords & Wizardry. But, honestly, I don’t ever see that coming to fruition.

        Best,
        TB

  4. Pingback: Reading, Not Writing, and Some Arithmetic… « The Banes Blog

Leave a Reply

